As Guest in Berlin’s New Centre – New Year’s Reception in the Europacity

Europacity New Year's Reception
The Europacity location community and the panelists (from left to right): Jan Friedrich (Bauwelt), Johanna Biesalski (SAP), Manfred Kühne (Senate Administration), Sven-Christian Frank (Adler AG), Stefan Forster (Stefan Forster Architekten), Sonja Bischoff (CA Immo), Martin Rodeck (EDGE Technologies), Marianne Mommsen (relais Landschaftsarchitekten), Hans-Joachim Paap (gmp Architekten), Ephraim Gothe (District Council), Thomas Bergander (Quartier Heidestrasse), and Simon Schurke (DWI Gruppe).

The Europacity grows and grows: Now the shell of QH CORE in the future Quartier Heidestrasse has celebrated its first New Year’s reception. The bauwelt editor Jan Friedrich moderated a podium discussion about the future of the new urban quarter next to the Berlin Central Station; the centrepiece of the evening. 

Podium speakers included Manfred Kühne, head of the department of urban development and projects in the Senate Administration for Urban Development and Housing, architects Stefan Forster and Hans-Joachim Paap, as well as landscape architect Marianne Mommsen. The lively discussion extended to topics like the extension of the Heidestraße to become a central artery of the quartier and the planned landscape architecture, including also critical voices: whereas the project’s leading architect, Hans-Joachim Paap von gmp, who praised the exemplary and continuous planning, Stefan Forster from Frankfurt am Main asked important questions as to how such attractive Berlin urban quarters like Charlottenburg, Wilmersdorf or Prenzlauer Berg could be reproduced.

For Marianne Mommsen the answer lay in the greening and maintenance of open spaces: “Europacity is being created in a very dense city. We are very pleased that we can design much of the open public space with greenery since we use it to connect the buildings.” Support came from Manfred Kühne, who spoke about the adjacent waterway—the Berlin-Spandau Shipping Canal, bordered by the Humboldt and Nord harbours: We have to resuscitate these waterways. That strengthens the positive image of Europacity, the quality of life and the quality of open spaces.” 

Thomas Bergander, managing director of Taurecon and Quartier Heidestraße GmbH, summarised the successful evening with a glance into the future: “Our first New Year’s reception shows that the Europacity location community is very effective representation interests to the public, government and local administration. The Europacity will be a modern urban quarter, exemplary for how people can live and work together, for the creation of new neighbourhoods. At the same time it is the vanguard of modern urban development, for example with issues such as mobility and digitalisation.“

 

Europacity New Year's Reception
The first Europacity New Year's reception took place on 28 January 2020 at QH CORE, Quartier Heidestrasse.
Europacity New Year's Reception
The panel discussion was hosted by Jan Friedrich featuring guests Manfred Kühne, Stefan Forster, Hans-Joachim Paap, and Marianne Mommsen.

Zu Gast in Berlins neuer Mitte – Neujahrsempfang der Europacity

Neujahrsempfang Europacity
Die Standortgemeinschaft Europacity und Podiumsgäste (v.l.): Jan Friedrich (Bauwelt), Johanna Biesalski (SAP), Manfred Kühne (Senatsverwaltung), Sven-Christian Frank (Adler AG), Stefan Forster (Stefan Forster Architekten), Sonja Bischoff (CA Immo), Martin Rodeck (EDGE Technologies), Marianne Mommsen (relais Landschaftsarchitekten), Hans-Joachim Paap (gmp Architekten), Ephraim Gothe (Bezirksstadtrat), Thomas Bergander (Quartier Heidestrasse) und Simon Schurke (DWI Gruppe).

Die Europacity wächst und wächst: Nun wurde im Rohbau von QH CORE im zukünftigen Quartier Heidestrasse erstmals Neujahrsempfang gefeiert. Moderiert von bauwelt-Redakteur Jan Friedrich bildete eine Podiumsdiskussion zur Zukunft des neuen Stadtquartiers am Berliner Hauptbahnhof den Mittelpunkt des Abends.

Auf dem Podium sprachen neben Manfred Kühne, dem Leiter der Abteilung Städtebau und Projekte in der Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung und Wohnen, die Architekten Stefan Forster und Hans-Joachim Paap wie auch die Landschaftsarchitektin Marianne Mommsen. Die lebhafte Diskussion umspannte Themen wie den Ausbau der Heidestraße zur zentralen Lebensader des Quartiers und die geplante Landschaftsarchitektur, ging aber auch kritische Stimmen ein: Während der leitende Architekt des Projekts, Hans-Joachim Paap von gmp, die beispielhafte wie kontinuierliche Planung lobte, stellte Stefan Forster aus Frankfurt am Main die wichtige Frage danach, wie beliebte Berliner Stadtviertel – Charlottenburg, Wilmersdorf oder Prenzlauer Berg – reproduziert werden können.

Für Marianne Mommsen lag die Antwort in der Begrünung und Pflege von Freiflächen: „Die Europacity entsteht als eine hochverdichtete Stadt. Wir sind sehr froh, dass wir die vielen städtischen Freiräume grün gestalten können, weil wir damit die Gebäude verbinden.“ Unterstützung kam von Manfred Kühne, der auf die angrenzende Wasserstraße einging – den Berlin-Spandauer Schifffahrtskanal, der durch Humboldt- und Nordhafen begrenzt wird: „Wir müssen diese Wasserläufe wiederbeleben. Das stärkt das positive Image der Europacity, die Lebensqualität und die Qualität der Freiräume.“

Thomas Bergander, Geschäftsführer von Taurecon und der Quartier Heidestraße GmbH, fasste den gelungenen Abend mit Blick auf die Zukunft zusammen: „Unser erster Neujahrsempfang zeigt, dass die Standortgemeinschaft Europacity eine sehr gute Interessenvertretung gegenüber der Öffentlichkeit, Politik und Verwaltung ist. Die Europacity wird ein modernes Stadtquartier, sie wird beispielgebend für das Zusammenleben und Zusammenarbeiten der Menschen sein, für das Entstehen von neuen Nachbarschaften. Zugleich ist sie Vorreiter der modernen Stadtentwicklung zum Beispiel bei den Themen Mobilität und Digitalisierung.“

Neujahrsempfang Europacity
Der erste Neujahrsempfang der Europacity fand am 28. Januar 2020 im Rohbau von QH CORE im Quartier Heidestrasse statt.
Neujahrsempfang Europacity
Die Podiumsdiskussion moderiert von Jan Friedrich mit Manfred Kühne, Stefan Forster, Hans-Joachim Paap und Marianne Mommsen.